Evolution and Development of the Flower

This research group works on two main research themes:
- Comparative floral genetics of Petunia hybrida and Arabidopsis thaliana
- The evolution of the carpel in the flowering plants

Team members

Our publications

We recruit


Comparative floral genetics of Petunia hybrida and Arabidopsis thaliana

JPEG - 8.2 kb
Mutants help us understand the molecular mechanisms of flower development.

Leader : Michiel VANDENBUSSCHE

We are comparing the mechanisms that control flower development in the model plants Petunia and Arabidopsis, which belong to two very large flowering plant groups, respectively termed the asterids and rosids. A whole genome duplication that occurred shortly before the separation of the asterid and rosid lineages provided extra copies of genes, some of which were then free to evolve novel functions.

Accordingly, we find that numerous differences in flower development mechanisms have evolved between Petunia and Arabidopsis. These differences typify the tremendous diversity of floral form to be found throughout the asterid and rosid clades today, which together contain the majority of living land plant species.

The evolution of the carpel in the flowering plants

JPEG - 10.5 kb
Left- naked ovules of the gymnosperm Cycas rumpii, and right- a pistil (coloured green), composed of two carpels that enclose the ovules, in the model flowering plant Arabidopsis thaliana.

Leader : Charlie SCUTT

We are investigating the genetic changes that caused the closure of a leaf-like organ around the ovule to form the carpel- the female reproductive organ of the flowering plants. To do this, we are comparing flowering plants with their non-flowering relatives, the gymnosperms (cycads, conifers, Ginkgo etc), which possess naked ovules. We work both on established model plants such as Arabidopsis for the wealth of molecular and genetic tools available, and on early-diverging flowering plants such as Amborella trichopoda, the sister of all other flowering plants, which is native to the Pacific island of New Caledonia. Understanding the origin of the carpel is central to understanding the origin of the flowering plants, whose sudden rise from an unknown ancestor in the early Cretaceous was famously described by Charles Darwin as an “abominable mystery”.


Diary

<<

2017

 

<<

September

 

Today

MoTuWeThFrSaSu
28293031123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829301
Aucun évènement à venir les 6 prochains mois

Evolution et développement de la fleur

Cette équipe travaille sur deux thèmes principaux :
- La génétique florale comparative de Petunia hybrida et Arabidopsis thaliana
- L’évolution du carpelle chez les plantes à fleurs

Les membres de l'équipe

Nos publications

Nous recrutons régulièrement des stagiaires


La génétique florale comparative de Petunia hybrida et Arabidopsis thaliana

JPEG - 8.2 ko
Les mutants nous aident à comprendre les mécanismes moléculaire du développement de la fleur chez Pétunia.

Responsable : Michiel VANDENBUSSCHE

Nous comparons les mécanismes qui contrôlent le développement de la fleur chez les plantes modèles Petunia et Arabidopsis, qui appartiennent à deux très grands groupes de plantes à fleurs, appelés respectivement astérides et rosides. Un événement de duplication de génome entier qui a eu lieu peu avant la séparation des lignages des astérides et rosides a fourni davantage de copies de gènes dont certaines ont pu, par la suite, évoluer pour générer des nouvelles fonctions.

Par conséquent, nous trouvons de nombreuses différences entre Petunia et Arabidopsis au niveau des mécanismes du développement de la fleur. Ces différences reflètent l’énorme diversité de formes de fleurs à travers les rosides et astérides, qui ensemble représentent la majorité d’espèces de plantes terrestres vivant aujourd’hui.

L’évolution du carpelle chez les plantes à fleurs

JPEG - 10.5 ko
A gauche, les ovules nus de la gymnosperme Cycas rumpii et à droite, le pistil (en vert), composé de deux carpelles qui renferment les ovules, de la plante à fleurs modèle Arabidopsis thaliana.

Responsable : Charlie SCUTT

Nous étudions les modifications génétiques qui ont provoqué au cours de l’évolution la fermeture d’un organe de type « feuille » autour des ovules pour former le carpelle, l’organe femelle reproducteur des plantes à fleurs. Pour cela, nous comparons les plantes à fleurs avec leur groupe frère les gymnospermes (cycades, conifères, Ginkgo, etc), qui elles possèdent des ovules nus. Nous travaillons sur des plantes modèles établies comme Arabidopsis pour le grand nombre d’outils génétiques à disposition, mais aussi sur des plantes à fleurs qui ont divergé très tôt au cours de l’évolution comme Amborella trichopoda, plante endémique de la Nouvelle-Calédonie, qui est l’espèce sœur du reste des plantes à fleurs. Une compréhension de l’origine du carpelle sera très importante pour mieux comprendre l’origine des plantes à fleurs. En effet, ces dernières ont évolué très rapidement à partir d’un ancêtre complètement inconnu- un événement qualifié par Charles Darwin de « mystère abominable ».


Agenda

<<

2017

 

<<

Juillet

 

Aujourd'hui

LuMaMeJeVeSaDi
262728293012
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31123456
Aucun évènement à venir les 6 prochains mois