

6th INTERNATIONAL RESEARCH AWARD ON TRANSPORTATION INFRASTRUCTURE MANAGEMENT

(Research works presented during 2016)

Summary of the Jury's meeting

The meeting took place at Abertis Headquarters on May 16th, 2017, under the presidency of Mr. Salvador Alemany (Abertis president) and Mr. Sergi Loughney (secretary of the Jury).

Prof. Francesc Robusté presented all the candidates (winners of the national editions) together with the tables of the independent rankings by each director of the Abertis Chairs International network. The Jury considered the rankings provided by the Chairs Directors, deleting the vote to the own country's candidates. The Jury started a debate about the qualities of the works, workload, practical issues, innovation, scientific rigor, data analysis and its treatment, the results of the application, and the output of scientific papers (in the case of PhD candidates). Taking into consideration all the above mentioned information the Jury decided by unanimity to assign the following awards:

Winners of the 6th International Award in the **<u>PhD thesis</u>** category (Ex-aequo):

- Dr. G. Michau (FR), "Link Dependent O-D Matrix Estimation" (Ex-aequo).
- Dr. P.A. Laharotte (FR), "Prediction of traffic states with machine learning" (Ex-aequo).
- Finalist of the 6th International Award in the PhD thesis category:
 - Dr. H. Badia (ES), "Bus network structures and urban dispersion".

Winner of the 6th International Award in the Master's thesis category:

• Mr. M. Niehaus (CH), "Accessibility and equity in social appraisal".

Finalists of the 6th International Award in the Master's thesis category:

- Ms. M.J. Barthes (FR), "Dynamic regulation of speeds in A22".
- Mr. V. Casado (ES), "Simulation of public e-bike sharing system".

Winner of the 6th International Award in the **Road Safety** category:

• Dr. H. Hamdane (FR), "Improvement of pedestrian safety".

Finalists of the 6th International Award in the **<u>Road Safety</u>** category:

- Dr. J. Cañas (ES), "Design of an in-situ continuous concrete NJ barrier".
- Mr. F. Vieira (BR) "Driver's behavior under mental workload".

Salvador Alemany President Abertis Francesc Robusté Representative of the Directors of the Abertis Chairs (*) Sergi Loughney Secretary Jury

(*) Directors of the Abertis Chairs (2017): Prof. Francesc Robusté (Spain), Prof. Simon Cohen (France), Prof. Benjamin Colucci (Puerto Rico), Prof. Juan de Dios Ortúzar (Chile), Prof. Liedi Bernucci (Brasil).