Observatoire de Lyon

Observatoire de Lyon - COMET

Lyon Observatory

Lyon Observatory logo
UAR 3721

The Lyon Observatory is an "observatory of the sciences of the universe" (OSU) affiliated to the Claude Bernard Lyon 1 University and co-piloted by the National Institute of the Sciences of the Universe (INSU) and the National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS). In addition to research and initial and continuing education, it has specific missions: "observation services" and the dissemination of scientific and technical culture.

The Lyon Observatory has a staff of about 200 people and is located on two sites: the historic site of Saint-Genis-Laval, founded in 1878, and the Géode building on the Doua university campus, with a large branch in Gerland, at ENS de Lyon.