Michael Ellis Fisher, British physicist

Michael Ellis Fisher, British physicist

Thu, 11/10/2012


Doctor Honoris Causa of ENS de Lyon - October 11, 2012


Michael Ellis Fisher (born 3 September 1931) is an English physicist, as well as chemist and mathematician, known for his many seminal contributions to statistical physics, including but not restricted to the theory of phase transitions and critical phenomena.

Michael E. Fisher received his BSc from King's College London in 1951, where he also earned a PhD in physics in 1957. He was appointed to the faculty as a lecturer the following year, becoming a full professor in 1965.

In 1966 he moved to Cornell University where he became professor of chemistry, physics, and mathematics, chairing the chemistry department from 1975 to 1978. In 1971, he became a Fellow of the Royal Society. In 1973, he and Jack Kiefer were the first two Cornell faculty elected as Horace White Professors. Fisher was elected Secretary of the Cornell University Senate. In 1983, he was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences, chemistry section. Since 1987 he has been at the Institute for Physical Science and Technology, which is part of the University of Maryland College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences.

Fisher currently lives in Maryland with his wife Sorrel. They have four children. Two of them are also theoretical physicists: Daniel S. Fisher is professor of Applied Physics at Stanford, while Matthew P. A. Fisher is professor of Physics at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Award and honours

Guggenheim Fellowship (1970)

Irving Langmuir Prize of the American Physical Society (1971)

Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1979)

Wolf Prize (1980)

Boltzmann Medal of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (1983)

NAS Award for Scientific Reviewing of the National Academy of Sciences (1983)

Lars Onsager Prize of American Physical Society (1995)

Royal Medal in physics (2005)

2009 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Basic Sciences (co-winner with Richard Zare)

2015 Rudranath Capildeo Prize for Applied Sciences and Technology-Gold, awarded by the Trinidad and Tobago's National Institute of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology (NIHERST)


Fisher Michael B2