70 years of physics at Les Houches

70 years of physics at Les Houches

23 Monday
From Mon, 23/05/2022 to Tue, 24/05/2022

May 23: 9 am - 10 pm


Is the event already full ?
This event is already full.

Les Houches School of Physics will celebrate its 70th anniversary on May 23 and 24, 2022. This internationally renowned place, founded by Cécile De Witt, has existed since the summer of 1951. On this occasion, great scientists, including Nobel Prize laureates and CNRS Medalists, will celebrate the creation of the School, which continues to train young generations of physicists and thus ensures the enrichment of this scientific discipline.

The University of Grenoble Alpes and the CNRS associated since 1998 with this School, decided to strengthen the national and international scientific influence of Les Houches School of Physics by creating in 2017 a joint unit of service which now brings together the UGA, the CNRS, the CEA, ENS de Lyon and Grenoble INP-UGA.

On Monday, May 23, 2021, all the partners, including Jean-François Pinton, president of ENS de Lyon, will be present to officially open these two anniversary days in the presence of the daughter of the school's founder, Chris De Witt.

The scientific sessions will follow in the afternoon and the next day and will feature contributions from leading physicists. Serge Haroche, Nobel Prize in Physics 2012, Professor and former administrator of the Collège de France, Member of the French Academy of Sciences, Michel Mayor, Nobel Prize in Physics 2019, Professor at the University of Geneva, Member of the American Academy of Sciences and also Françoise Combes, CNRS Gold Medal 2020, astrophysicist and CNRS research director.

Day 1: May 23th 2022

Openings talks from tutelles

  • 9:00-9:30: Arrival: welcome coffee
  • 9:30-9:35: Director: Opening and introduction
  • 9:35-9:40: Mayor of the city Les Houches
  • 9:40-9:45: UGA
  • 9:45-9:50: CNRS
  • 9:50-9:55 : CEA
  • 9:55-10:00: ENS de Lyon
  • 10:00-10:05: INP-Grenoble

10:05-10:50: Break

Scientific talks:

  • 10:50-11:15: F. Combes (Collège de France, Paris, France)
  • 11:15-11:40: M. Mayor (Genève Observatory, Switzerland)
  • 11:40-12:05: S. Haroche (Collège de France, Paris, France)
  • 12:05-12:30: J. Dalibard ( Collège de France, Paris, France)

12:30-14:25: Lunch (Buffet)

Scientific talks:

  • 14:25-14:50: L. Saint-Raymond (IHES, Bures/Yvette, France)
  • 14:50-15:15: J. Bloch (CNRS, C2N, Palaiseau, France)
  • 15:15-15:40: S. Majumdar (CNRS, LPTMS, Orsay, France)
  • 15:40-16:05: L. Zdeborova (EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland)

16:05-16:35: Break

  • 16:35-17:00 : G. Krstulovic (CNRS, Laboratoire Lagrange, Nice, France)
  • 17:00-17:25: M.H. Schune (CNRS, IJCLab, Orsay, France)
  • 17:25-17:50: L. Canet (UGA, LPMMC, Grenoble, France)

19:00-21:00: Social Dinner

21:30-22 :00 : Public presentation (in French): R. Lehoucq ( CEA, DaP, Saclay, France)

Day 2: May 24th 2022

Scientific talks :

  • 8:55-9:20: M-H. Julien (CNRS, LNCMI, Grenoble, France)
  • 9:20-9:45: A. Walczak (CNRS, LPENS, Paris, France)
  • 9:45-10:10: D. Escande (Aix-Marseille University, Marseille, France)

10:10-10:40: Break

  • 10:40-11:05: F. Alet (CNRS, LPT, Toulouse, France)
  • 11:05-11:30: A. Lindner ( Paris University, PMMH, Paris, France)
  • 11:30-11:55 L. Cugliandolo (Sorbonne University, LPTHE, Paris, France)
  • 11:55-12:20: J-L. Barrat (UGA, LiPhy, Grenoble, France)

12:30-14:30: Lunch (Buffet)

  • 14:30-14:55: N. Sangouard (CEA, IPht, Saclay, France)
  • 14:55-15:20: C. Winkelmann (UGA, Institut Neel, Grenoble, France)
  • 15:20-15:30: Final remarks by the organizers
  • 15:30-16:00: Goûter d’anniversaire

16:00: End of workshop