Académie des Sciences - 2022 Awards

Académie des Sciences - 2022 Awards

Tue, 25/10/2022

Honors and awards, News

Congratulations to Janne Blichert-Toft, Mickaël Bourgoin and Gwyneth Ingram, members of ENS de Lyon laboratories and to Laurent Fargues, Bruno Hudry, and Marié-Hélène Verlhac, Alumni of the School.

On Tuesday, October 18, the French Academy of Sciences unveiled its 2022 Prizes. Among the winners, ENS de Lyon is proud to announce that Janne Blichert-Toft, CNRS Research Director at the Laboratoire de géologie de Lyon (CNRS/Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1/ENS de Lyon),  Gwyneth Ingram, CNRS Research Director and Director of the Plant Reproduction and Development Laboratory (CNRS/Inrae/ENS de Lyon), Mickaël Bourgoin, CNRS Research Director at the Physics Laboratory of ENS de Lyon (CNRS/ENS de Lyon), as well as three alumni of the School received awards.

Janne Blichert-Toft, laureate of the Dolomieu Prize from the Bureau of Geological and Mining Research

Janne Blitchert-Toft phot

CNRS Research Director at LGL-TPE, Janne Blichert-Toft is a world leader in the application of isotopic geochemistry working on key scientific questions about the origin and evolution of the Earth and planetary bodies, with a focus on geoarchaeology and numismatics. She is known for her contributions to the geochemistry of the Lu-Hf radiogenic system and high-precision Pb isotopes, which enabled her to associate the formation and evolution of the Earth and the early solar system.
Janne Blichert-Toft is the first woman to receive this award (see the French Geological Survey website).

The Academy paid tribute to her during the award ceremony at the Dome of the Institut de France, on October 18, 2022.

Mickael Bourgoin photo

Mickaël Bourgoin, laureate of the ONERA-Mechanical Sciences prize for aeronautics and aerospace

CNRS Research Director at LPENSL, Mickaël Bourgoin is interested in the transport of fields and particles in complex flows, particularly turbulent ones. Developing experimental approaches and innovative Lagrangian modeling, he has studied the structure of turbulence and mixing, the dispersion of particles (aerosols, inertial, anisotropic, magnetic, phoretic, active, etc.) as well as the fluid-structural interactions of towed and pendulum systems, at the crossroads of fundamental fluid mechanics issues and industrial, environmental and health issues.

The Academy will pay tribute to him at the award ceremony at the Dome of the Institut de France, on November 22, 2022.


Gwyneth Ingram photo

Gwyneth Ingram, laureate of the Foulon Prize

CNRS Research Director and Director of the RDP, Gwyneth Ingram is studying the inter-tissue communication that coordinates the development of plant reproductive organs.
Her integrative and interdisciplinary approach revealed molecular and physical dialogues between the different tissues of these complex structures and demonstrated their value as models for dissecting key mechanisms of plant development.

The Academy will pay tribute to him at the award ceremony at the Dome of the Institut de France, on November 22, 2022.

Our Alumni rewarded

Laurent Fargues, laureate of the Léonid Frank Prize

CNRS research director, member of the Institut de Mathématiques de Jussieu-Paris Rive Gauche (IMJ-PRG - CNRS/Sorbonne University/University of Paris), Laurent Fargues is an alumnus of ENS de Lyon, Sciences competition 1995. His work is in the field of the Langlands program, p-adic Hodge theory, and the geometric objects involved in it. In a joint study with Jean-Marc Fontaine, he completely rethought in a purely geometric way the p-adic Hodge theory by introducing and studying what is now called the Fargues-Fontaine curve. In collaboration with Peter Scholze, he used this curve to construct the local Langlands correspondence on a p-adic field.
On the Académie des Sciences website (in French)

Bruno Hudry, laureate of the Dr. and Mrs. Henri Labbé Award

CNRS researcher at the IBV (CNRS/Inserm/Université Côte d'Azur), Bruno Hudry obtained his master’s degree in Molecular and Cellular Biology at ENS de Lyon in 2007, then completed his thesis at the Institute of Developmental Biology in Marseille. During his post-doctoral stay in London, Bruno Hudry highlighted a new role for sex chromosomes in adult tissues, including intestinal stem cells. Recruited at the CNRS in 2018 and laureate of the ATIP-Avenir and ERC Starting programs, he has since continued his work on sex chromosomes and, more generally, on the molecular mechanisms causing sex differences.
On the Académie des Sciences website (in French)

Marié-Hélène Verlhac, laureate of the Jaffé Prize - Foundation of Institut de France

CNRS Research Director at the Interdisciplinary Center for Research in Biology (Inserm/CNRS/Collège de France), Marie-Hélène Verlhac is a former student of ENS de Lyon, Sciences competition 1988. She studies the maternal inheritance transmitted by the female gamete to her offspring. Her work was initiated by research on assembly and positioning of meiotic spindles of mammalian oocytes devoid of centrosomes, present in most cells. Her team discovered original mechanisms, based on purely biophysical phenomena, controlling nature and preservation of maternal inheritance. Recently, they have identified an area of maternal mRNA splicing by the forces of the cytoplasm, opening new avenues of research.
On the Académie des Sciences website (in French)