Patrick Flandrin elected President of the Academy of Sciences for 2021-2022

Patrick Flandrin elected President of the Academy of Sciences for 2021-2022

Thu, 10/12/2020

Honors and awards

Press release from the Academy of Sciences on December 9, 2020.

Patrick Flandrin, CNRS Research Director at the École normale supérieure de Lyon and Vice-President of the Academy of Sciences in 2019-2020, was elected president of the Academy of Sciences on December 8, 2020 for 2021-2022. He will take up his duties on January 1, 2021, succeeding Pierre Corvol. Antoine Triller, Emeritus Research Director at Inserm, founder of the Institute of Biology of the École normale supérieure, and member of the Integrative Biology Section of the Academy of Sciences, was elected Vice-President for the same period.

Patrick Flandrin, President for 2021-2022

Patrick FlandrinPatrick Flandrin is Director of Research (DRCE2) at the CNRS (National Center for Scientific Research).

He works at the Physics Laboratory of ENS de Lyon and is a signal processing specialist. Since his thesis, in 1982, he has pursued research activities in three main directions. He first provided theoretical and algorithmic contributions in time-frequency analysis of non-stationary signals, leading to the writing of two monographs (Time-Frequency at Hermes (Paris) — two French publications in 1993 and 1998, followed by the English translation Time-Frequency/Time-Scale Analysis at Academic Press (San Diego) in 1999 — and Explorations in Time-Frequency Analysis, Cambridge University Press (Cambridge) in 2018). He has also been actively involved in the development of wave theory since its inception, and more specifically contributions to multi-resolution analysis of invariant scale processes. More recently, while revisiting fundamental questions in non-stationary signal analysis through new data-driven methods, he has been interested in the study of complex systems related to human activities, using graph and network approaches. All of this work has led to numerous applications in fields ranging from mechanics (diagnosis and non-destructive control) and bioacoustics (natural sonars) to astrophysics (gravitational wave detection), biomedical engineering (baroreflex activity), computer metrology (internet traffic modeling) and urban mobility (self-service bicycle systems).

Elected member on November 30, 2010
Section: Mechanical and Computer Science

From January 1, 2021, the Office of the Academy of Sciences will consist of:

  • Étienne Ghys, Perpetual Secretary
  • Pascale Cossart, Perpetual Secretary
  • Patrick Flandrin, President
  • Antoine Triller, Vice-President
Affiliated Structures and Partners