Laure Saint-Raymond, recipient of the 2020 Bôcher Memorial Prize

Laure Saint-Raymond, recipient of the 2020 Bôcher Memorial Prize

Wed, 13/11/2019

Honors and awards, News

The 2020 Bôcher Memorial Prize will be awarded to Laure Saint-Raymond on January 16, 2020, during the Joint Prize Session at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in Denver.


Laure Saint-Raymond will receive the 2020 Bôcher Memorial Prize for her transformative contributions to kinetic theory, fluid dynamics, and Hilbert's sixth problem on "developing mathematically the limiting processes… which lead from the atomistic view to the laws of motion of continua."

I would like to begin by congratulating my colleagues Larry Guth and Camillo De Lellis, whose work is very inspiring to me, and with whom I am happy to share the Bôcher Memorial Prize.  I am actually very impressed and honored to receive this distinction, but I would like to associate my collaborators to this recognition. I always have a lot of pleasure to work with them, and without them I would never have had the courage to embark on a program of this size.

Laure Saint-Raymond

Laure Saint-Raymond is currently professor at  ENS de Lyon, and Fellow of the Institut Universitaire de France. She is also a member of the French Academy of Sciences, the Academia Europae, and the European Academy of Sciences.

She has been awarded many prizes, among which are the Prize of the European Mathematical Society in 2008, the Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize of the AMS in 2009, and the Fermat Prize in 2015.

The 2020 Bôcher Memorial Prizes will also be awarded to Camillo De Lellis and to Lawrence Guth.

The Bôcher Prize

The Bôcher Prize is awarded for a notable paper in analysis published during the preceding six years. The work must be published in a recognized, peer-reviewed venue. The prize, historically the first offered by the AMS, was founded in memory of Maxime Bôcher, who served as president of the AMS from 1909 to 1910.

Affiliated Structures and Partners