Three Alumnis awarded the Jeunes Talents L'Oréal-UNESCO Pour les Femmes et la Science France 2023

Three Alumnis awarded the Jeunes Talents L'Oréal-UNESCO Pour les Femmes et la Science France 2023

Tue, 17/10/2023

Honors and awards

Alice Briole, Edwige Cyffers and Aurora Pignata, all graduates of ENS de Lyon, have been awarded grants from the L'Oréal-UNESCO program to support the involvement of young women in scientific research.

Every year, the L'Oréal Foundation, in partnership with the French Academy of Sciences and the French National Commission for UNESCO, awards the Prix Jeunes Talents Pour les Femmes et la Science France to 35 young female researchers. This year, the Foundation is rewarding 3 of our former students. Congratulations to them! 

Portrait of Aurora Pignata

Aurora Pignata

After studying literature in Italy, Aurora Pignata discovered scientific research almost by chance. After graduating from ENS de Lyon with a degree in biology, she did her post-doctorate at the Toulouse Institute for Infectious and Inflammatory Diseases, where she studied diseases affecting the brain and spinal cord, such as multiple sclerosis.

Portrait of Alice Briole

Alice Briole

A physics graduate from ENS Lyon, Alice Briole chose to devote her thesis to a subject at the crossroads of medicine, biology and biotechnology: the study of red blood cells in patients suffering from a genetic blood disease. As a post-doctoral fellow at the CNRS Matière et Système Complexes laboratory, she is continuing her research, in collaboration with INSERM's BIGR (Biologie Intégrée du Globule Rouge) laboratory, to propose early tests to anticipate complications in sickle cell disease, the leading genetic disease in France.

Portrait of Edwige Cyffers

Edwige Cyffers

Edwige Cyffers has a degree in mathematics from ENS de Lyon, and is currently a doctoral student at the Université de Lille. Her research focuses on the protection of personal data. For her, it is essential to take into account the ethical issues raised by the development of artificial intelligence: treating users fairly, being trustworthy, reducing its ecological impact...

This year, 20 PhD and 15 post-doctoral students in France were selected from 618 eligible applications by a jury of excellence made up of 32 researchers from the French Academy of Sciences, chaired by Patrick Flandrin, CNRS Research Director and outgoing President of the French Academy of Sciences. Patrick Flandrin is a member of the SiSyPh (Signals, Systems and Physics) team at the Physics Laboratory of ENS de Lyon.