The Institut Universitaire de France (IUF) is a service of the Ministry of Higher Education that distinguishes each year a small number of university professors for the excellence of their research. Created by decree in 1991, the IUF aims to encourage research of the highest level in universities and to promote interdisciplinarity. IUF members are appointed for 5 years, while honorary members are appointed for life.

Honorary members: Francis Albarède, Georges Bohas, Bernard Castaing, Christian Dumas, Michel Peyrard, Denis Serre, Philippe Gillet, Vincent Laudet.